Day 11

In Sunday’s newsletter, Brain Pickings had a piece on Henry Miller’s 11 Commandments of Writing & Daily Creative Routine. I loved it. This one particularly expressed my feelings lately about writing: “Cement a little every day, rather than add new fertilizers” while this one is what I aspire to: “Write first and always. Painting, music, friends, cinema, all these come afterwards.” Tonight, as usual, my writing is taking last place, just before I go to bed, after the bills, dinner, email, facebook games (don’t laugh)… My writing should have been the first thing I did when I came home. It almost was, but I avoided it. There. I said it.

So now my goal is to write at least three sentences. I’ll check back in in a second and we’ll see…

OK only 181 words tonight but that’s 181 more than I had this morning and it’s getting late. OK. Tomorrow I write earlier. And more…..

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

