Day 16

Well I wrote but I have no idea how much – I was in a pub enjoying a very delicious meal and trying to relax. Tomorrow I’ll put it on my computer and come back and add the number here.

I wrote a scene that I’m pretty sure, even as I was writing it, I won’t use. So why did I keep writing it? Because it needed to be written and in the writing of scenes like that, I sometimes get revelations about my world or a character’s motivations. For instance, I wrote a prologue that I was pretty sure I wouldn’t use and now I’m sure I won’t, but it gave me the insight to write the actual first pages of my book. And it gave me material that I might be able to incorporate later – emotions if nothing else. It was one of those scenes that was so vivid to me that I can still see it even though I haven’t read it since the night I wrote it, two weeks ago. That’s when you know you really are creating a world…

OK I’ve put today’s words into my laptop, if not Scrivener (I’m on the move the next few days so that will come later – which reminds me, I really need to back up my Scrivener stuff and my novel onto my second computer or a flash drive or something else….) 198 words today! Adding on quite nicely to the last week’s totals. My MS is growing. :)

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

