Day 21

Sometimes you have to know when to call a wall a wall. And to know when you’re hitting it. I’ve gotten out 155 wordsbut in the last leg of a long travel day, I’m ready to throw it in. My scene feels stale and off, somehow and while I can keep writing through that, I feel the best thing is to just stop, and come back to it when I’m fresher. i.e. tomorrow.

Here’s a funny writing quote that makes a lot of sense to me today: “The waste basket is the writer’s best friend.” ~Isaac Bashevis Singer

Goes along with the advice to never show your first draft to anyone. I don’t always follow that but sometimes, it’s the best advice there is. And with that, good night and happy writing.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

