Day 22

“The role of a writer is not to say what we all can say, but what we are unable to say.” ~Anaïs Nin

I like this quote. It inspires hope that even when I feel like my writing’s going nowhere and saying nothing, there’s a good chance it really is even if it’s on a level I’m not aware of.

I wrote a short story once – it turned out to be kind of a prequel to a novel I’d written for the 3-Day Novel Contest. It was a very, very bad novel but the short story was completely different. I’d written it as a kind of fairy tale but I was just telling a story – I hadn’t written it with any kind of moral or message in mind. Yet when someone who’d read it asked me what the meaning of it was, I found that I could suddenly see the underlying theme that I hadn’t known I was putting in when I’d been writing it.

So the question is what else does my writing say about me that I’m not aware of? Hmmm maybe I shouldn’t ask. Maybe it’s like a painting and as long as readers get  what they need to from it, it doesn’t matter what I put in, deliberate or not.

Here’s today’s word count: 206 words.

Later…

So I’d saved my post and WordPress popped up with the following quote and I thought it was so great, I had to share it here. “Be obscure clearly.” ~ E. B. White

Which is great except I might just be obscure and skip the “clearly” part…

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

