Day 23

I only wrote 9 words tonight but I don’t care; today wasn’t about writing although…  although those 9 words got my character out of the hot water she was in with her new boss and back to the guy she can’t stand who’s supposed to be training her. Not bad for just 9 words.

But almost more importantly, tonight was the night for my monthly Professional Writers’ meeting. Tonight’s topics by two different speakers were, respectively, humor and grief in children’s books. My book doesn’t have much overt humor or grief in it but I could see how both could fit into the story. Actually I’m anxious to see how I can draw out my character’s grief. Right now, I know she’s got anger against her mother – blames her for the deaths – but what other emotions and actions can I incorporate so it feels real without having it taking over the story? Great food for thought!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

