Day 25

I’m on a quote jag right now so starting tonight with yet another one:

“Writing is not a job description.  A great deal of it is luck.  Don’t do it if you are not a gambler because a lot of people devote many years of their life to it.  I think people become writers because they are compulsive wordsmiths.” –Margaret Atwood

Yeah. I think that’s pretty on, Margaret. If I don’t write in awhile, I get cranky. Don’t always realize that’s why I’m cranky because I get cranky when I’m tired or hungry, or both… Fortunately, there are plenty of times when I’m not cranky or tired…

This is my 25th blog post – I’ve been writing a post a day for 25 days straight. And I’ve written some new words for my novel 12 days in a row now. That’s crazy for me. It’s like I’m actually developing a writing practice. Yes, that deserved italics. I still don’t feel that everyone can, or should write everyday – I think it’s good if you can, but life gets in the way and committing to even 250 words just doesn’t work for me: eventually I end up with a very busy or very tiring day and I can barely churn out 9 words. So now I’m allowing myself that: if I can write any words, no matter how few, that is an accomplishment. And the low days eventually get balanced out by the high ones (high for me, that is ;)

On that note, today’s count: 133 words. I’m bored with this scene so I might be nearing the point where I’ll need to step back and do some mapping – exactly where is this scene going? ‘Cuz I’d rather have it punch there than dribble….

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

