Day 26

I’ve decided that I need a break from my writing, so no word count tonight. I’m still tired of the scene so I’m taking a day off  to see where it’s going to go next. Actually, I still need to import all my work from my vacation through yesterday into Scrivener; it’ll be easier to see what I’ve written on this scene when it’s all in an uninterrupted flow. But that’s for tomorrow and Sunday.

Tonight, I went with a friend to Half Price Books. After hitting my usual sections, I found myself looking at quote dictionaries. As I was browsing through one big, beautiful, and still-at-the-store volume, I turned and saw a shelf full of Maritime history books. Wow.

One thing about my book: there will be sailing. And boats. And another thing about my book: I know just about nothing about sailing or boats. So I gotta do my research. I went to the library one afternoon and started getting in the mindset. Then last week, I spotted a display on a dock, with pictures of many different vessels on it. It was great except that not all of them were named. So my next task, I’ve decided, is to find a great picture-dictionary-type reference book of boats. And ships. Then I can start to really get an idea of which ones are being used on my world.

You know, a quick thought on that: I’m writing a dystopian novel, so there’s a certain amount of worldbuilding I need to do. I’m still working out how my world works, but I already know it’s not a world in which I’d want to live, so I find this quote particularly interesting (told you I was in a quote phase):

I believe one writes because one has to create a world in which one can live. I could not live in any of the worlds offered to me — the world of my parents, the world of war, the world of politics. I had to create a world of my own, like a climate, a country, an atmosphere in which I could breathe, reign, and recreate myself when destroyed by living. That, I believe, is the reason for every work of art.” –Anaïs Nin, diary, Feb. 1954

Fascinating. And it points up the fact that everyone is different. Then again, I didn’t choose to write a dystopian novel: the story chose me and it chose that setting. Still, I hope my next book is a lighter book, in a world I can love.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

