Day 27

I’m dropping off here so this will be a short one.

Despite taking a 1/2-hour long ferry ride today – twice, in fact – I did not write a single word. That tells me something: I really do need to refocus on my scene. So tomorrow – after a very nice and needed sleep-in and before my chores – I’m going to import all I’ve written in the last week from my netbook to Scrivener on my Mac and see if I can see where the break-down is, or more importantly, where the scene should be going. Then I’ll be in better shape to start putting down more new words.

In the meantime, as you should know, a major dystopian young adult novel – The Hunger Games – is coming to the big screen shortly. I’ve been so aware of this book for so long now that I forget how many people don’t know anything about it. It seems like they’ve done a good job bringing it to life, so I’m really looking forward to it (although I don’t need to see it on opening day lol). This article by Martha Brockenbrough makes me want to see it even more and here’s why:

This is why the hoped-for success of Katniss Everdeen is such a heartening thing. She’s not a girl in a boy movie. She’s a human being in a compelling story about things that should matter to all of us. Here’s hoping she can help make that the thing that really matters in the movies.

I agree: here’s hoping.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

