Day 28

Aarrgh. Every once in awhile, someone will comment something to the effect that they can’t love writing like I do, or note the fact that I love writing. When I correct them and say I don’t love writing – not usually anyway – but need to write, they think I’m joking. But it’s true. I get irritable if I don’t write in awhile but the process can be difficult to say the least. James Joyce – bless him – says it perfectly here: Writing in English is the most ingenious torture ever devised for sins committed in previous lives. 

Yes, that. Exactly that. Well ok sometimes exactly that. Sometimes it really is an incredible experience. I feel like I’m on the cusp of that right now. I was able to get out of the scene that was boring me and into another although not too far: only wrote 98 words today. Now I just have to actually break through and given that it’s just around midnight, that won’t happen tonight.

So I’m taking some deep breaths and telling myself how much I’m looking forward to returning to my story tomorrow. Then tomorrow after work, I might get out the Crayola markers (washable poster markers – I like the versatile tips) and my sketch book and start outlining or sketching my way to a breakthrough. Hey, it’s worked before. Gets my head in a different place. ‘Til tomorrow then…
About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

