Day 34

Well my day got derailed by a vicious headache that has fortunately mostly gone away. But since I got no writing done today, I’ll just leave you with this great article by Darcy Pattison called, “5 Ways to Get Past Writer’s Block.”

I particularly like the subplot idea, in part because instead of working on another project altogether, I can feel like I’m stepping away from my work without actually doing so. And also I like it because my novel is definitely lacking a subplot. I know YA novels tend to just have one throughline but I suspect my novel will benefit from another sub-story running just lightly through it. Or I just need to deepen the story I’ve got. Which would require me finishing. Um yeah…. Let’s check in on that tomorrow…..

Last note: WordPress had another writing quote for me after I posted this post tonight: There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are. –W. Somerset Maugham 

Yep. Sounds about right. If you’ve figured them out though, let me know, wouldja?

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 34

  1. Vivian says:

    Hey, that was a helpful article. I’ve already tried a couple of these – writing the last chapter again, going back to a chapter where things were working – but not working on a subplot. I have one that’s been kicking around in my head for a week. Maybe my writer’s block is simply because I haven’t explored the subplot. I’m going to give that a try.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Nice! Let me know how it goes, Vivian!

Leave a Reply

