Day 35

“You are a mashup of what you let into your life.” — Austin Kleon

This could not be truer. I think it would also be true to say: “Your writing is a mashup of what you let into your life.” And how cool when you suddenly get to use that mashup in your writing?

I was reading one of my lightweight romance novels – one I’ve read a few times; it’s a comfort thing, like mac ‘n cheese. Anyway, I came across a few lines of dialogue that hit me like a fist to the gut. I won’t bother quoting them here since they only matter to me, but these few lines made me suddenly see my world in a whole new light. Then I realized that the same theme that was in those lines is reflected in a few pieces of the artwork on my walls and I got spooked. In a good way, but still spooked.

Because you see, that breakthrough gave me a sudden reimagining of a key part of my world and I broke through part of my writer’s block and wrote 517 words. Of course then I had to stop because it’s time for bed, damnit. But I’m still highly stoked.

So the moral of the story is, don’t discount the inane things you might be doing, thinking they have  nothing to do with your writing, because you never know when a piece of what you’re doing might suddenly be the key to make a piece of your writing unlock for you.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

