Day 36

I’ve come across so many awesome writing articles in the last few days that I’ve had to keep at least a dozen windows open on my little Netbook so I don’t forget them all (I’m working on my beloved, ancient Mac right now – it’s a little less crowded  lol).

One of the articles is from Brain Pickings – I love them, by the way. Anyway this one’s called Six Tips on Writing from John Steinbeck by Maria Popova. My favorite is number two: Write freely and as rapidly as possible and throw the whole thing on paper. Never correct or rewrite until the whole thing is down. Rewrite in process is usually found to be an excuse for not going on. It also interferes with flow and rhythm which can only come from a kind of unconscious association with the material.

I guess the term “whole thing” is relative – like is that my whole book, the whole chapter or just today’s writing? Guess that’s up to me. Point is, while you’re writing, write. Don’t stop to look for the perfect word. One of my favorite techniques when I’m stuck on a word is to highlight it – virtually or with a real highlighter – and come back later. Nine times out of ten, the perfect word will just fall into place when I come back and see the whole.

It’s not easy for me to just write like that though. I have to see what I’m writing and if I lose that vision, I have to pause, not get distracted by other things – harder than it sounds – and pick my scene back up again.

Tonight I managed to do that a few times and eked out  264 words. I’m content with that. And now I sleep. Have to try doing that a little earlier one of these days…

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

