Day 37

So today was more a day for sketching, nachos, friends, and thrift store shopping, than it was for writing. Or rather it was once I got out of work…

Anyway, no new words today so I looked at one of the writing articles I still have open. I’ve been trying to figure out why Brain Pickings has had so many articles on writing and creativity lately just when I’ve been looking for them. Well it could just be that they always do and I’ve only recently gotten turned on to them. Whatever, I’m enjoying them a lot.

Today’s article is called, “New Year’s Resolution Reading List: 9 Books on Reading and Writing” and it delivers the goods. I have at least 4 of these and of those, Stephen King’s, On Writing, and Annie Lamott’s Bird by Bird tie as two of my favorite books on writing. Ever. There’s a few on the list though that I’ve never seen and will have to, have to pick up. (Ray Bradbury’s Zen in the Art of Writing: Releasing the Creative Genius Within You is the first one to jump to mind, although it looks like it might be hard to find.)

What’s your favorite writing book? Some people prefer books on grammar and style – I shun those (probably shouldn’t…) Me, I go for those that are a cross of the practical/advice type with the this-is-how-I-do-it type. Like Stephen King’s and Annie Lamott’s books. But I guess you saw that coming, huh.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

