Day 38

This afternoon after work was one of those baffling afternoons where I feel fine, just maybe a little tired, so I lie down for a few minutes and except for brief little half-awake states, didn’t wake up for over two hours. But when I woke up, I felt energized in a weird way – still tired but energized to write. (I also felt the way I do when I take a nap because I’m fighting sick and the nap helped.) The crappy weather seemed to help in a way: nothing better now than curling up on my couch with a big glass of water, some popcorn, and my laptop and checking out what I’ve written over the last week, polish a few uglies and start new. So. I’m starting new now so if you’ll excuse me…

Maybe it’ll be one of those times when the writing soars…. I hope. Even if it doesn’t, I’m jazzed to write. Ok now I’m stalling – see you in a few with my word count!

Later…

You know, I was able to write pretty well. Whether that was because I kept the lights low to keep the juices flowing or because I started earlier than in the evening (or both), it worked. I wrote 1,521 words tonight. Woohoo! Was aiming for 1,500 but didn’t think I was going to make it when my battery gave out and my ADHD really kicked in. Surprise, surprise.

So now I can leave you with a very excellent writing quote: Writing is a struggle against silence. — Carlos Fuentes. I totally agree, and sometimes it’s a wonderful, wonderful struggle – like playing a really good basketball game against really good opponents. That was it tonight. Hooray!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 38

  1. Vivian says:

    1,521words?! Awesome! I’ll have to try the low light and popcorn tonight and see if it works for me. I’ve been stuck for days at about 100-300 words. It’s an awful feeling.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Thanks! And ech I know the feeling. I think the low light in particular worked because it helped my brain calm down and focus on the writing. Sort of. There was still a lot of flipping to internet pages between sentences which of course killed my battery which meant I had to wait to finish until it recharged…. But the important thing is I WAS able to finish – I turned the lights back down, sat back on my couch and was able to get to my goal. Might have to do that more often. Good luck tonight!

Leave a Reply

