Day 41

I’ve heard the common wisdom – convention, belief, whatever – that says that if you truly want to write, it should be the first thing you do. And I agree that there’s sense in that, but it’s not always possible. Now it’s true that sometimes I don’t write because I’m procrastinating, but often, life just gets in the way, and I’m not yet willing to change my plans in order to write. Maybe I should but that would rarely make me happy…

Today was another bad headache day (allergies: make you just want to yank your head off your body). Then it was a night out with friends. Now I’m home, writing this at 1:40 in the morning (don’t look at the publish time – I’m playing with that so it shows that it was published on Saturday because this is still my Saturday). Anyway, I didn’t think I’d get much out but surprisingly, the scene was still there, and my characters were still there, waiting for me to put my fingers to the keyboard to take down their words.

So. I got out 560 words with very little effort, and could probably write more except that I’m starting to pass out so I need to stop while I can still walk to my bed. 

Sleep deep and may the words be with you (sorry – everyone was posting about Emerald City Comicon today, including George Takei; it was contagious lol).

On a last note: I just complied my novel into a pdf using Scrivener and I discovered that I just hit 30,000 words and 100 pages. That’s f-ing fantastic! See? Just a little chipping away here and there during the course of a week adds up. Thankfully…

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

