Day 43

OK not a writing day by a long stretch, so it’s time for another great article. This one’s another one from Darcy Pattison called Facing a Critique or Editorial Letter: 2 Destructive Attitudes.

In my opinion, there are very few fields where a person’s self-esteem is so closely tied up in their work – or rather, in the evaluation of their work. I mean, anyone can feel in the dumps if they get a bad review but do they immediately start the “I’m stupid” chants? Not usually – at least not in my experience in the fields I’ve worked in. Maybe I’m wrong – maybe this type of self-castigation is more common than I think. Whatever, it’s important to remember that just because an editor doesn’t want your MS or because s/he wants to make a few changes – or a ton – doesn’t mean you did a bad job, you’re stupid, or you can’t write. It just means you’re – shockers – not perfect and need help honing it down.

I love what Darcy says here: “[…]t your work has great value, just as you as a writer have great value. When you allow fear to undermine that belief, then you paralyze your work.” Very true. So stop it. Just enjoy writing – enjoy the unique ability you have to create lives and worlds that wouldn’t exist without your pen (or keyboard). You’ll have to edit the hell out of it, but every job has aspects that suck and the end result will be so, so worth it. So keep at it!

OK. Off my soap box and pom poms away. For tonight anyway…

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

