Day 44

Well I had big plans to write more than I did but I’m satisfied with my 320 words. For the first time ever, I feel like every day – or every time I write, I’m putting down a little more of a story I’m creating. I’m used to doing shorter stories so the first draft is usually done in a few days, but this one is keeping my interest for far longer: almost exactly a year ago I started imaging this world, although the MC (main character) was completely different (a middle-aged man instead of a teenage girl).

Of course it wasn’t as fun writing about the dead body my character just stumbled on but since she stumbled on it after a crowd did, she was ok to cut out of there. I would. Not anything she could do anyway. And the fact that she was “rescued” by the guy she hates… Well, I didn’t see that coming.

Nice when you can entertain yourself by the story you’re telling. Yes, I know how it’s going to end (I think), yes, I finally have the beginning written, but no, I don’t know what happens in the middle. Mostly. I have all this background and some character clashes. Now I just have to throw everything and everyone together a little more and hit, “blend.” Or better, “chop.” Should get interesting…

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

