Day 45

Someone posted an article today which I stole to post on my own page: Want To Be More Creative? Get BoredIt was in line with something Anne Lamott tweeted a couple of days ago:  “No one cares if you write–but if YOU do, you’re responsible for creating an atmosphere of artistic focus and receptivity. So no cell phone.” Or Facebook. Or Twitter, Or Email. Or… You get the idea.

Anne Lamott’s words hit me pretty hard. Add on today’s article and I had a lot of thinking to do… See, focusing on one thing at a time is almost-always a challenge for me (except for those times when I hyper-focus). As an example, I forgot I was writing this post because I’d fallen down the wild, webby, rabbity-hole that is the Internet and next thing I know, 20 minutes were gone. Now I’m back but how can I create an atmosphere of artistic focus when I’m bouncing around on 10 different web pages? I can’t, that’s how. Working on that…

On a completely other note, you may have noticed (or not) that I’ve added some fun widgets at the bottom of this page, and an “About This Blog” page. I hope they add to your experience here. And if not, well they were fun to play with.

So now on to to tonight’s writing… It’s 9:21p and I’m just getting started so I’ll be back in just a little bit…
..

Alright, I’m going to have to stop at 152 words. Good enough. And I left my MC literally in the middle of trying to describe the worst smell she’s ever smelled in her life; which is tougher than it sounds when she’s never smelled any kind of rotting food… I’ll pick up there tomorrow and hope she has cheerier things to talk about when I meet up with her again. Probably not though – she’s currently walking away from a very dead boy, through a dark, dank tunnel with the boy she can’t stand, through the worst smell experience in her life. Wait, it might get better after all: things have nowhere to go but up.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

