Day 49

Well I’m realizing I was right: it’s time for some serious brainstorming, daydreaming, and storyboarding. (Check out this article or go visit the Iconiclastic Writer for Fiction Writing Plot Development Storyboards for information on storyboarding your novel.)

I started brainstorming about my story a little bit today and then had a mini-revelation while watching “Mad Men” for the first time (oh and I was also writing my only new words for the day while I was watching: all 37 of them). What I got from “Mad Men” is that it’s a well-written show with snappy dialogue and plotlines that hook the viewer, but more, it’s an incredibly well-researched show. This is obvious not only in the choice of Joan’s gorgeous wardrobe, but also in the way the events of that period are present and affect the characters: they aren’t just watching them on a TV or reading about them in the paper; they’re living them. It made me realize that that’s what I’m trying to achieve. I want any reader of my book to see my MC’s world through her eyes as the events around her affect and change her. I don’t want the events to be an afterthought, or peripheral to her life, because they’re not: she’s living in a small, contained city and everything will affect her. I just need to figure out how to show that.

So it’s time to start seriously storyboarding before I seriously lose the thread to my story. You get that? SERIOUSLY.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

