Day 51: The what-ifs

I saw an article in my inbox today called something like, “How to Write When You’re Really Busy.” Ironically, I didn’t have time to read it (yet), but part of the reason is that I was writing.

Since my story’s stalling a little bit and I’m getting bored with it, I decided to try another tact: the “What if?” tact. What if he dropped dead right there? What if a hidden door opened out of the wall? What if some animal she thought was extinct raced down the tunnel and attacked them? What if she heard a baby cry and– Hey wait a second. I might be onto something with that last one – hang on a second while I make a note…

So I don’t know if I can work with any of those What ifs, but I incorporated two of them and we’ll see what happens.

Tonight’s word count: 310 words.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

