Day 52

I finally have a dining table. And one of two chairs. The other chair should make it’s way home in another day or two. In the meantime, I’m getting used to having a dining table – a very tall dining table – fill up my dining space. I thought I might write at  it – I have fond memories of writing at dining and kitchen tables – but it’s just too pretty right now to mess up with a laptop. So here I am back at my desk, which I should mention is red and in the shape of a giant peanut. In case you were wondering.

I actually didn’t do any writing tonight but I did stuff that worked towards my writing: I finished reading Flip by Martyn Bedford tonight. Flip is about a 14-year-old boy who wakes up in another boy’s body. It has good details of what it might be like to wake up in someone else’s body and live their life, in their world – even if it’s only at the other end of a small country. I’ve had this book for almost a year but’d put off reading it for some reason. It was probably that I thought it might influence me too much at the start of my novel. Which might have been true. Now I was ready to read it for inspiration. See, I’m still kinda stuck. I used my Crayola poster markers in my sketchbook tonight trying to break through and figure out where I’ve gotten lost. I need to outline again, but while I used to do solid outlines for school papers, it’s damn hard to do one for a novel. (To me anyway…) It’s the difference between putting together readings and facts for a paper, and just creating the whole thing from scratch.

The rest of the night was for redesigning my business cards for the upcoming SCBWI conference. I guess it wasn’t a bad idea: I’m running out of time.

So does outlining work for you to organize your thoughts, or do you just find it gets in the way of your creativity? (Or (C): do you just have no idea where you’re going so you have no idea what to put on the outline? Which would be me…)

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

