Day 53: Putting it all together. Sort of.

I felt the urge to write tonight but didn’t know if this would be a night when that urge would turn into words or just pure frustration. The answer? WORDS! 582 words tonight and I like where they’re leading my characters: finally out of the tunnel and into (more) danger. And these words stemmed from one of the What-ifs I wrote about two nights ago. I still need to storyboard some (I printed out the worksheets from the article I posted the other night) but I feel like I’m moving back on track and that’s a relief.

In addition to the storyboarding, I’m also going to keep in mind Darcy Pattison’s article, “Plotting is Like a Jigsaw Puzzle.” It’s a good reminder that there is more than one way to figure out your plot and still come out with a finished story. Reading it, I’d say I use the Sorting strategy most. So maybe I don’t need to outline like I said last night, but I definitely want to storyboard a bit, just to make sure I’m not missing anything. You can do that in Scrivener too, and I am as I go, but I like the tactile aspect of being able to write it out – activates a different part of my mind than just virtually moving index cards around. Looking forward to it!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 53: Putting it all together. Sort of.

  1. Deb Marshall says:

    Okay–you are giving me hope for this crazy book/story I want to tell. It was a panstered novel with a bit of outlining thrown in here and there, so it is a b**** to revise. Time to take a deep breath, step back take some of your notes and get ‘er done! Thanks.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Awesome, Deb! Well don’t they say it’s better to step back anyway, to gain perspective, etc.? I don’t always have patience for that though. Or memory: there’s the danger that when I step back to let it sit for awhile, I’ll forget about it. A real danger because I’ve done it lol. The fun part is rediscovering these forgotten MSs. But I digress. Good luck! And thanks for reading :)

Leave a Reply

