Day 54

Whether or not you’ve read Jodi Picoult, you should read her Top Tips for Aspiring WritersHer first piece of advice is one that’s repeated by everyone: “First of all carve time out to write every day.” I’m always of two minds about this; on the one hand, I totally agree: you should write something every day (and emails and FB posts don’t count). On the other, I think that sometimes – like today for me – you just can’t write which is why I made the commitment in the first few days of this blog to just somehow work on my writing every day. This gives me a little more space when I just can’t put down new words for some reason. Instead, I can be thinking about my main character’s personality, or her conflict with her mother, or I can be bringing a scene to life in my head, using all my senses to get a feel for it, which is something I don’t have time to do when I’m actively writing. I just have to do something every day to keep my story alive and to keep me interested in it and in practice.

Of course, you could say that this commitment gives me an out to not write every day, but that’s my guilt complex I have to deal with, not yours, so you’re fine.

Ha. It’s not just me: after I published today’s piece, WordPress popped up this quote: The best time for planning a book is while you’re doing the dishes. ~Agatha Christie 

I’d forgotten she said that. So. Guilt complex adequately assuaged before it even has a chance to get started.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

