Day 55: Writing for Children

There may come a time soon when I will move this blog from a daily one to a weekly one. Or at least every other day. But for now, I’ll continue daily. (Although thoughts on that would be welcome: would you prefer to read this blog once a week or more often?)

I was thinking tonight that I haven’t really talked about genre. As in what do you write? Or ok, what do write.

So the big project I’m writing on – the only one I’m using for my daily word count right now – is a YA (Young Adult) Dystopian novel. (Dystopian being the opposite of Utopian. It’s about how the future is going to suck. Big time.) I hadn’t intended to write a Dystopian novel. Or even a YA novel, for that matter, but that’s the story that’s wanting to be told and like I said, with a 15-year-old MC, it fits better in the YA category than in the Adult category.

What I thought I wanted to be writing was picture books, maybe chapter books, and definitely some stories for children’s magazines like Highlights. And I have written two picture books (ok one and a half; haven’t quite figured out the ending of the second book yet…)  even if they haven’t been published yet. (They still count!)

(Incidentally, you’re supposed to write what you know. Well how the heck do you do that when you’re writing about a future that hasn’t happened yet?)

If you’re interested in writing for children – and that’s anywhere from Picture Book to YA level – I very, very strongly recommend you hook up with your local chapter of SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators). They’re an invaluable resource. My writing has definitely strengthened and gotten honed from the various meetings, sessions, and discussions I’ve participated in since I joined. And it’s just nice to be in a room with people who love what you do: children’s books, whether they write and/or illustrate them or just love to read them. So. Check them out. You won’t be sorry.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

