Day 56: Getting inspired

I’m always interested to hear what gets people inspired to write, whether that inspiration is for a whole book, a scene, or even just a line of dialogue. On the tall tales and short stories blog, Lucy Coats talks about using mythology and legends in children’s fiction (thank you, Janice Hardy, for sharing this on twitter). I studied fairy tales and folktales for awhile, and have always loved mythology. I always thought I would incorporate them into my stories somehow but instead, my current novel is turning out to be heavily influenced by current events, political and otherwise. Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing (although it can be a depressing one…) Which proves the point that you can’t necessarily direct inspiration, but you can leave yourself open to it by reading and experiencing as much as you can. (Yes, sorry, I’m one of those who believe that you have to actually live life, not just read about it, in order to really be able to bring it to life on the page. Pardon the pun.)

All of which is great and means one little, teeny thing: I’m stalling. Now granted, I have to speed-read a book for Friday because I keep forgetting to do it and now my electronic lending period is ending in 3 days and I’m only like on page 15 out of 274, but that’s no excuse: I’m procrastinating on my writing. Here’s my commitment for tomorrow: tomorrow I will either (a) write new words or (b) start storyboarding. It’s going to be a get-my-allergy-shots night and it might also be a dye-my-hair night but I’ll still stick to that commitment regardless. Wish me luck!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 56: Getting inspired

  1. ahamin says:

    Well for me… I find out listing to music or soundtracks have a way to stimulate the writer lying dormant within… when i get really sucked into a song or a musical score, imagining a scene from my book at the same time is when i get my best self in writing… this is one of many methods i use… but its surely is the best one yet

    Good luck with your book :)

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Hi, ahamin. Yeah, I’ve found that jazz helps me, especially if I wear headphones to “contain” it. Thanks for the reminder – I’ll have to try it tonight!

  3. Vivian says:

    Gardening! I wrote at least three political essays in my head pulling out dandelions this weekend – though I believe it was more to vent so I wouldn’t make some angry retort to our snooty neighbors. LOL!
    Seriously, I inspiration comes to me at the weirdest places and times. Almost like a bolt in the ether – walking the dogs, staring at the mountains, reading a good passage in a book – I suspect this is my muse’s elusive pattern bushwhacking me. Then I write for hours, the words flowing on the page. Now if I could only tame my inspiration into some cohesive element, I could actually finish my book!

  4. thewritingblues says:

    lol, nice.
    But yeah that’s often how mine will come too – with no guiding or prompting while I’m doing something else. Which makes it hard to guide and prompt it… lol. But that’s it isn’t it: that letting go so that inspiration – and the words – can come to you, instead of straining to find them. For me, the letting go let’s me remember to have fun in the process again, instead of thinking “I have to do this” which just blocks me up.
    Thanks, Vivian!

Leave a Reply

