Day 57: Storyboarding

Alright! Finally got down to some storyboarding. As you can see, I still have a lot to fill in but – I started! And it feels good. Helped me to start to see the whole of the story in a way an outline never can. Here is a picture of the start.

image

Once I get it filled up – or mostly filled – I’ll look at the flow and then start organizing my work in Scrivener to match. Then it’ll be easier for me to keep writing in sequence.

Here’s another great explanation of how to storyboard a novel. If you haven’t tried it yet, I highly recommend you do. And it’s good for any type of writing really, not just fiction. I’m using words in my “cards” right now, but of course you can storyboard the “traditional” way too, using drawings.

Storyboarding can be a killer idea – as the article above suggests, you can just list out everything you know will happen in your story, each idea on a “card” and then move them around.

Like I said a few days ago, I think I use a sorting strategy for writing and plotting. But maybe it’s more patchwork: I get an idea, I write. I stop to outline a little, I write. I storyboard (finally), I write…. Well you get the idea. And it’s working, so why knock it.

If you haven’t already, don’t forget to check this link out too for “Fiction Writing Plot Development Storyboards” for different storyboard printouts. They’re fantastic and I’m going to use them for stage 2.

Happy Writing!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 57: Storyboarding

  1. thewritingblues says:

    Reblogged this on the writing blues and commented:

    I’ve been writing this blog now for around 5 months, so tonight I thought it might be fun to look back at some of my earlier posts. In doing so, I saw that this blog really has been a journal of my writing experience and I’d like to thank everyone who is, and has been a part of that. And, after reading some of my nearly 200 posts, I decided it’d be fun to resurrect some of them as reblogs. So here’s the first of those, a post I wrote in mid-April about how to storyboard your novel. Enjoy and have a good night, everyone.

Leave a Reply

