Day 59: Coffee shop breakthrough

After work today, I went to one of my ex-favorite coffee shops. I say ex-fav because I used to go there all the time when I was in my last quarters of my undergrad. But since I graduated (almost 2 years ago – wow!), I haven’t been almost at all.

So. I’m sorry I’ve been away, coffee shop. Really, really sorry, because you’re just as awesome as you were before and your cinnamon roll bread pudding is… Well I’m sure I’ll have a heart attack tonight but it was worth it. And the smoothie and two salads I’m having for breakfast, lunch & dinner tomorrow will balance it out. (Can we say possible overcompensation?) And no, that’s not all I’ll be having so don’t worry.

Anyway…. I started my writing session tonight by writing in big print some questions I have about my book, and doing some more Storyboarding. Something I wrote then made me realize that there’s a scene I started but never really finished but today’s for new words, not revising. (Well really, my Mac was at home and no way I was gonna revise from memory.)

Another thing I wrote involved the relationships of some of the main characters so I decided I needed to write a scene that showed what I’d just said about one of those relationships. So I did. I like it. My character sounds younger than I thought she was, but then again, most kids sound different when talking to their friends versus talking to their grandparents.

Total word count after all this: 432 words.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

