Day 66: Writing stories (with excerpt)

When the editor who reviewed my first five pages over the weekend went over her critique (awesome opportunity), she mentioned a detail I’d dropped into both the MS and the synopsis – that my main character is influenced by her grandmother’s stories of the past. I hadn’t thought to really expand much beyond that. Well, I guess I knew I was going to do something with it, but I hadn’t thought it was going to be that big a part of the story. Her comments have me rethinking it. Suddenly I can see the grandmother’s stories being a major part of the novel, possibly even running through the actual text as a counterpoint. But we’ll see. At any rate, I wrote part of one of those stories tonight and it led to a revelation about the relationship between the MC and her mother. Another comment made by a friend who read the first few pages made me suddenly see a key aspect of my MC’s personality. It’s going to be fun to bring that out in other scenes.

I got a decent word count in – 636 words – so I’m happy about that, and I thought maybe it would be fun to drop in an excerpt of what I’m writing. So here’s a little of tonight’s scene:

     “Once, Lorin, this city was filled with people. They dressed mostly like we do now but of course their clothing was newer and… and brighter.” Oma looked down at the threads in her hands. For a second, I could see them, brighter, like thin strips of liquid gems. Then she started wrapping them again and the spell was broken. I looked down at the time in my wrist.

     “Am I keeping you?” she asked with a lift of her brow.

      I tapped my wrist dark and dropped it, saying, “No, Oma – I just wanted to see how much time I have before the bridge floods.” I didn’t have to say which one; she knew.

That’s all for tonight. Night, world!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 66: Writing stories (with excerpt)

  1. Deb Marshall says:

    Oh my…love this:

    “For a second, I could see them, brighter, like thin strips of liquid gems.”

    Hopefully it not one of the darlings you have to kill, lol. CONGRATS on the w/c and the new inspiration. It’s a wonderful feeling when a part of a story grows like that.

  2. Vivian says:

    Thanks for sharing your story. You have a lyrical style that brings the reader into the scene.
    :)

  3. thewritingblues says:

    Thanks, Deb, and Vivian. :) And yeah, Deb, I’m hoping I don’t have to cut it out, but if I do, I’ll definitely be saving that line to use somewhere else. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

