Day 70: Cleaning up

After I came home last night, I updated the Scrivener file of my novel. It was something I’d been needing to do since last August when I dropped a critical piece of the plot. I was stalling on doing it though because I knew it would kill my word count, and it did: dropped it by like 8,000 words. But it was a relief because everything that I pulled out were scenes I knew in the back of my mind wouldn’t work. Ever. Not in any published work. Or any unpublished one for that matter. In fact, I’d’ve burned them but (a) I can’t burn an e-file and (b) I want to keep them as proof that I did write words, even if NO ONE WILL EVER SEE THEM.

Until I pulled them out, looking at my word count was kind of like looking at your 401K and knowing that there’s a whole chunk of that you’re never going to see – damn you, taxes!

Like I said, it was a relief.

So today I was able to start fresh with new words, knowing it’d be adding on to my real word count. I’d intended to spend most of the day writing (and doing laundry; I was behind), but of course stuff happens and it didn’t quite work out that way. But I did make my goal. I’d told myself – and a friend – last night that I would write 1,000 words today, thinking I’d totally blow past that goal that. Well, I passed it, but just barely: today’s count was 1,007 words. Not bad. Certainly better than my average and I’m officially on my way to replacing everything I just axed.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 70: Cleaning up

  1. Deb Marshall says:

    Absolutely not bad on the word count! I have a MG novel that needs to be cleaned out, too. Figure word count will drop between 5 and 8 {eep!} thousand….

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Frightening, huh? Still, it was such a relief to know those scenes were officially gone.

    Congrats on your in-growth MG novel :)

Leave a Reply

