Day 72: Tips from Tolkien and writing at your pace

I saw this great article on twitter today: Tolkien’s 10 Tips for Writers. It’s a fantastic article all-through but the part that really got me was this:

He put many of his struggles aside, though, and went to writing.  He had to balance his day job with his desire to write epic stories set in Middle Earth.  He found time.  He made time.  It took him 7 years to write The Hobbit. (117) The thing that he writes about most in this period is his struggle to get the work finished on his novels and to balance teaching and his many duties at Oxford College.  Apparently he found a way.

This inspires me. Sometimes I worry about my low word counts, but then I see something like this and I remember that I work at the pace I can work at, and that’s ok. And slow as it is, it still sometimes feels like my writing is consuming me. Which isn’t a bad thing at all…

Read the rest of the article – there are some great tips in there, and it’s just great to have some insight into a well-loved author’s writing style and thoughts.

I feel compelled to mention here that I only read the L.O.T.R. saga when the first movie was due to come out. Of course I loved all the books, but there were times when I found myself yelling, “Stop singing already and just get up the damn mountain!” I don’t know what that means now and I’m afraid to read them again, so we’ll just assume I had a reason for yelling such things at the books.

Today’s count: 476 words.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 72: Tips from Tolkien and writing at your pace

  1. Deb Marshall says:

    rolfing on what you shouted!!! ya know, I think I need to say that to my own self when it comes to sending out the darn queries. THANKS for this article and that quote…gave me goosebumps it did. Have a great writing day, at your pace!

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Wow good application of the yelling lol. I have to start querying one of my PBs again too. After I put it back to an earlier, better draft first, that is. lol
    Good writing day to you too!

  3. Vivian says:

    How inspiring – as I use my coffee break time to check my personal email and read your blog. Wouldn’t it be lovely if our day jobs were to write our novels?

  4. thewritingblues says:

    Sometimes I think it would be fantastic to write full-time. Other times I think I’d go crazy. Still, I’d like the chance to try ;-) Thanks for reading :)

Leave a Reply

