Day 78: Follow your passion? Or not?

Today I watched a TED talks video featuring Mike Rowe. The two big points I took from his talk were that (a) people who do the dirty jobs he films are some of the happiest he’s ever met and (b) maybe you’ll be happier if you don’t follow your passion.

Contrast this with Sir Ken Robinson who talks about the benefits of following your passion. (Read his book, The Element; it’s fantastic.) He says if you do follow your passion, odds are, you’ll be happier at the end of the day. Even if you’re tired from working hard, you’ll feel energized because you’re doing your thing – you’re working in your “element”.

Two very different opinions. What’s my point? That no one has the answers. (Ha. Didn’t see that coming, did you.)

It’s a personal struggle to figure this all out as I balance my daily job with my “life” (social commitments, etc.) with my writing, and with sussing out what I want to do in the next stage of my life. Should I follow my passion? Or should I be practical?

I figure I’d have to be really, really lucky to make a living writing. Like win-the-gagillion-dollar-lottery-prize lucky. I don’t have that kind of luck.

I will always write.  The rest will work itself out. Eventually.

Not much writing today – what little I did happened at lunch, in a coffee shop with a blackberry Izze soda in hand: 144 words. Works for me.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

