Day 80: Kristin Cashore

I had the pleasure tonight of hearing Kristin Cashore read from her new book, Bitterblue and then hear her talk about her writing process.

If you’re not familiar with Kristin Cashore, she’s the writer of Graceling, Fire, and of course, Bitterblue, which is now #2 on the New York Times bestseller list. (Congrats, Kristin!) I fell in love with Graceling and now have a personally autographed copy of it. Cooool.

She told us how long it took her to write Bitterblue (three years for the first draft, if I heard her right) so I followed up by asking how long it took her to write Graceling. The question was completely self-serving: how long did it take her to write her first published novel? Apparently a lot less time than she spent on her third novel: one and a half years for the first draft. Yep. I’m past that and I’m not even halfway through. *sigh*

I love asking other writers questions about their process because I know the answers will almost definitely be different than what I would say and so I have the chance of learning something. Meaning there’s almost as many ways to write as there are writers… Kristin writes long-hand in a notebook then periodically transfers it to the computer. (More on her writing process here.) I used to write mostly long-hand but I have so little time anymore that I don’t want to spend it transcribing my words.

All in all, it was a totally worthwhile way to spend an evening, and when the light bulb behind her went out in a fit of blinking and smoking just as she started speaking… well that just added a perfect dash of excitement (the kind that keeps your hand on your cell in case you need to call the fire dept).

OK that’s all for tonight. And um so this won’t be a daily blog… tomorrow.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 80: Kristin Cashore

  1. Vivian says:

    Thank you for sharing Kristin’s blog and your thoughts on the writing process. I’ve been writing for 3 years and have yet to finish a first draft, too. Yet I’m new to writing and have so much to learn. I’m enjoying the journey, and hey, maybe one day I’ll actually stick with one of my drafts and finish it. You see, I suffer from perfectionism and get about 100k words into a draft and decide it’s all wrong and start again. I’ve told myself I’m not going to do that with this draft. But, we all know what the say about that road to hell . . .

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Ha, yeah I know! Thanks for sharing, Vivian. The other thing she said that I’d forgotten until just now is that when she was shopping her first book, she was focused on the writing, not the publishing – meaning that while the query was out, she was working on the next book and so wasn’t worrying about it any agent’s response (or lack of response).

    I loved that she said she was focused on writing and not publishing. It takes the pressure off when you have to finish a draft. :)

Leave a Reply

