Day 83: Writing with Joy

Yes that’s right: there is no Day 82; I finally didn’t do a daily post. And I’m feeling just a little bit guilty about it.

I’m sitting in a cafe on a gorgeous sunny day, waiting for a friend, and reading Jane Yolen’s Guide to Writing for Children. Every page carries some gem. For instance, on this page, she says, “[…] most importantly, you must write with joy” (9).

Write with joy. How often do you write with joy? I know that it too often becomes just a task to complete. In a way, you do have to bring the same commitment as you would to any job. The difference is that the data will look just the same whether you enter it with a sense of joy in the task and the material, or whether you are utterly bored entering by rote. Your writing will not.

Perhaps this is why I haven’t written in a few days: real-world stress has temporarily drained the joy from my writing. Well that and I’ve been too damn tired.

Tomorrow I will write – I’m ready. And tomorrow I will write with joy.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

