Day 85: I was a little girl…

I was a little girl
Alone in my little world…

So begins Priscilla Ahn’s song, Dream. I’ve loved that song since I first heard it, but tonight the first lines are turning differently in my head.

When I was a little girl, I was alone in my little world because I read. And daydreamed. And read some more.

Lately I’ve been thinking about the books I loved as a child, even going so far as to track some of them down. I’m not sure what’s driving me to do this. Maybe it’s simply that I need to remember how much books can impact a child’s life.

Books gave me another world to inhabit and they gave me hope – hope that life could be as magical, or as fun, or as fantastic as I wanted it to be.

Maybe that’s the real reason I need to track down the books of my childhood: I need to regain that lost hope.

May you never lose the hopes of your childhood and may you pass them on…

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 85: I was a little girl…

  1. katkasia says:

    Arguably, you weren’t alone in your little world – it was peopled with all the wonderful creatures in your books!
    Personally, I love to read my old kids books before bed. There is a relaxing familiarity about them, and they never give me nightmares. :)

  2. thewritingblues says:

    I love that idea – of reading your old kids books before sleeping. And you’re right of course: with everyone I “met” in those books, I was never completely alone. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

