Day 86: Timing and torturing

I tried the timing thing again tonight for a much shorter period of time. It produced great results again: 940 words and I finally wrote the first draft of one of the scenes I’ve been procrastinating on.

It’s a sucky scene because something really bad happens to my character. I’ve heard that’s what you need to do: be mean to your MC (main character). This kind of goes beyond mean though, into pure torture.

Why did I need to write this scene? Why does what happens in it, need to happen for my character? For my story? For me? I might never know. Sometimes I can look back on a finished piece of writing and see where it came from and what it’s really about, but usually I can’t. It just is.

I’d  be interested in hearing about people’s experiences in making their MC’s suffer. This one nearly made me cry. I was going to put in an excerpt tonight, but reading over what I wrote, I can’t yet – it’s too raw. Besides, it would be hard to excerpt this one, leaving it whole enough to make sense but not whole enough to give stuff away prematurely. Sorry, can’t do it.

So I decided that since my writing was such a downer tonight, I’m going to share an incredible gift with you. That’s right: you get to see my gemstone pig!

I don’t remember if he – or she – has a name so let the naming contest begin. Pig has been the prop holding up my phone while it was in time-my-writing mode, so thank you, Pig. S/he also makes me laugh. Next time, maybe you’ll meet my Pirate Puffin. No, I’m not kidding.

Night, all.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 86: Timing and torturing

  1. Pingback: Putting them through hell | Writer's Block

  2. katkasia says:

    Hope you don’t mind – I’ve been pondering your post for a few days, and it has inspired me to write one of my own. You can find it at: http://kasiajames.wordpress.com/2012/05/22/putting-them-through-hell/

  3. katkasia says:

    Oh, and I think perhaps the pig should be called Ms Pibble? Either that or Umberto. :)

  4. thewritingblues says:

    No, of course I don’t mind! Was just about to send you a “thank you.” I just read your post and loved it.

    And lol, I love “Ms Pibble”! “Umberto”‘s great too but I suspect a little too literary for me. ;)

Leave a Reply

