Day 90: Scenes vs. In-betweens

On my walk to the bus (and back home again and back to the bus again, since I’d forgotten my wallet) I was thinking I wanted to make a list of some scenes I know I want to write but haven’t yet. In some cases, I’d start writing with the intention of writing them but would then find myself writing something totally different. So I need a list.

But that got me thinking about the in-between scenes. You know, those scenes that bridge the “real” scenes.

I don’t think I’ve seen too much written about them and I wish there was more because I realized I kind of suck at them. So maybe when I make my list of scenes to write, I’ll make a list of in-betweens to write too.

Any advice, suggestions, etc. would be very welcome.

If I get to do a word count today, I’ll add it here, but it’s a beautiful day and I’m on my way to a street fair with friends so writing might have to wait until tomorrow. Enjoy your day!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 90: Scenes vs. In-betweens

  1. Renee says:

    Check out Dwight V. Swain’s “Techniques of the Selling Writer.” He does a good job of illustrating Scene and Sequel planning. The “scene” starts with MC’s; 1) Goal or Motivating Stimulus, which moves into; 2) Conflict as they strive to attain their goal; 3) then ends in Disaster when they don’t get what they want.
    All ‘Scenes’ should be followed by a ‘Sequel’ in which the MC translates the disaster into a new goal, they do this by reflection which is; 1) Reacting to the disaster of their goal; 2) they take stock of their Dilemma by weighing reality against options, which propels them to make a; 3) Decision which becomes the new goal for the following Scene. The Sequel is used to translate the diaster into a goal, to keep things real and not magically make things go right – even if your world has magic, it must obey its own laws. and last to control the tempo and pace of the story. Going from cliffhanger to cliffhanger is melodramatic. Sequels allow your reader to track your character’s personal growth.
    I think this method separates a great read from ho-hum. It seems easy, but is rather difficult at times.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Actually it doesn’t sound easy to me lol but it does sound intriguing. I’ll have to check his book out. It sounds like exactly what I need. Thank you, Renee!

Leave a Reply

