Day 91: Having a platform

There’s so many ways now to stay connected with people online, whether it’s people you know, people in your field or who you’re just interested in, or people who are interested in you and what you’re working on.

So where the heck do you start?

Well I won’t touch on staying connected with people you know or are interested in – there’s enough articles out there about that. And it’s not my interest tonight.

I’m more interested in something called a platform. As in you as an author may one day want to build your author platform.

A platform has many uses, not least of which is reaching potential or new readers, depending on where you are in your writing process.

Which site and/or medium should you choose to build your platform? Well based on what Tricia Lawrence said at the 2012 SCBWI-WWA conference, you should choose what works best for you. If you like writing “articles” and posts, and can keep up with it regularly, a blog might be your best option. If you’d rather not write one more word, and would prefer talking directly to your fans, a vlog might be your best choice.

(Incidentally, Tricia also said something else I loved: social media gives your readers a chance to see who you are without having to knock on your door, so to speak. As someone who values her privacy but still likes to interact with people, I think that’s awesome. Social media allows you to choose how much you share. It’s not perfect, I admit, but it’s a pretty good start.)

Whichever media you choose, it seems better if you keep your content on-topic. Okay I know that sounded like a “duh” statement, but really think about it: isn’t it better if your readers know that they will be getting consistent content when they come to read your blog, or watch your vlog? If you’re all over the place with your content – writing about writing one day, writing about the Superbowl the next, and your friend’s bake sale the next, it might be harder to build a reader base. Not impossible, but harder.

I have to confess I haven’t been as good at this as I’d like to be; I mean this is a writing blog but narrowing that down from there is something I’m still working on.

Darcy Pattison has a really good article that she just published a few days ago on her site called, Author Platform? But I’m Just Starting to Submit. She really breaks down the concept of a platform and gives ideas on how to start building one and coming up with your focus.

Right now, I’m sticking to this blog and twitter for my platform. (See below for a few of my recent tweets and for a link to find me on twitter.) Eventually, I may add to that when I think it will benefit me and I have a better focus for my platform. And I might start other blogs, more focused on other aspects of writing and my interests.

This really seems like a good time to take a moment and thank all my readers; it’s nice to know I’m not writing into the void. :)

Have a great night, all. Oh and I wrote 593 words today.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

