Day 92: A world-traveling blog and a bathtub

I’m trying to remember the ways I best cope with stress now that I’m really feeling it. I’ve been talking about taking a bath since Friday so I finally decided that today was an ideal day to sink into one.

Here’s the thing about baths – I’ve done some of my best writing and brain-storming in them. I don’t know what it is about baths that gets my brain turning even as my body is relaxing. Perhaps it’s that my mind is relaxing too – letting go of the restraints and fears that plague my everyday writing life. Okay, my everyday life. Stop interrupting.

Tonight’s bath helped me step into my MC’s world and actually see what she was seeing, touch the buildings she was running her fingers over, hear her explain why some people had died recently…

And then I let her talk and she got angry at me.

I can understand that kind of anger – it stems from a feeling of helplessness – that things are spiraling out of control and you can’t do a damn thing to stop it. So apparently I have a closer connection to her than I thought….

On a happier note, I was looking at my stats today and I noticed something very cool: since I started writing this blog in late February, I’ve had visitors from 14 different countries, including my own. That’s pretty damn amazing. And I’d like to thank all of you who’ve been reading and have let me, in a very small way, touch those countries. One day I’ll be a world-traveler but until then, it’s great to know my words are beating me there.

Have a great night, everyone.

Word count tonight: 356 words.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 92: A world-traveling blog and a bathtub

  1. Good site, thanks for share this article with us

  2. ordinarygood says:

    It is exciting to see what a wide audience you are reaching. I’m glad to see that New Zealand is represented.

  3. thewritingblues says:

    Thanks! And I have to say that New Zealand has been on my list of countries to visit for years – it looks absolutely gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

