Sketching and music

I’m gonna keep this short because I need to sleep but I thought I’d continue my Venice theme a little.

Yes, I turned the DVDs back on but the second episode (out of four total) is about Venician art, which while that might be interesting to me another time, it’s not so much now. I’m more interested in the architecture and in the social functioning of this unique city.

So I didn’t really pay attention.

Last night however, I got more out of it. I even sketched this to help me get a feel for the canals:

It’s not what my city will look like but it’s really helping me see my own city a little more clearly.

Then, after watching a bit of the Venice DVDs, I went to listen to opera in a pub. It was cool and fun and utterly unique. And of course – since my writing and my book are never far from my thoughts – it got me thinking about my world: what kind of music do they listen to? And in what venue?

I’ve already been thinking about this – I even did a rough draft of a scene involving a club when I first started writing my novel (meaning it’ll hold but some of it’s gotta go).

But I was just thinking one-dimensionally: just that one scene showing one night of music. I forgot to think about what other types might be floating around them; what other people besides my MC (main character) might be listening to.

My world’s coming alive for me and it’s exciting. Now, when I get through my current block, I’ll have more to season my writing with.

Nite all!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sketching and music

  1. Jess Schira says:

    I’m so jealous about the book sale, I could use a bunch of new titles on my to-read shelf. I’ve found that talking to someone about writing often gives me a fresh surge of adreneline when mine has worn out.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    LOL I really didn’t need new books to read but they were good finds so I couldn’t pass them up!

    And yes, you’re absolutely right that talking to someone about writing can reinvigorate. That’s why I think I’m finally ready to find a critique group to work with.

    Happy writing and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

