An almost-free day filled with writing-stuff

Went to a giant YA/kids warehouse 25-cent clearance sale today. It was supposed to run from 10a to 4p, but when I got there around 1:20p, they had giant Sold Out signs up. I went in anyway and I’m glad I did: found some gems that had somehow been overlooked by the mobs (they told me that at one point, the wait to check out was over an hour – crazy!)

One of the gems ended up being a YA Dystopian. I’m not putting the name of the book here because the fact that it’s a dystopian doesn’t come out until maybe halfway through the book so that would be a major spoiler, but it was a very pleasant surprise for me who’s always on the look-out for new (to me) dystopians to read. Even more pleasant was the fact that I really liked it. I can’t remember the last time I read a whole book in one day but I devoured this one. Okay I’ll be honest, while I did love the book, my ability to read it all today was also due in small part to the fact that I had an almost completely free day, something that doesn’t happen very often.

Before starting the book, I had a fantastic conversation with another writer, one who’s much farther along with her novel than I am with mine. It’s usually great to shoot the shit with other writers, but even more so when you can have a fun, interesting, and technical conversation with them. I came away with a lot of good thoughts on how to better my own writing and a lot of respect for her work.

So. No new words, but talking out my plot with this writer gave me the itch to really dig in on my story’s outline. It seems like I know enough to finally put it down a little bit more formally. Which of course will totally change as I write, as it already has at least twice. (Finding out that one of your characters is actually already dead when the book begins, and that others you thought were dead are actually alive changes things considerably…)

And on a final, happy note, the signed, just-published YA Dystopian that I won in an online contest arrived today – can’t wait to start but I must control myself and get through some of my almost-due library books first *sigh*. (Today’s reading was a freebie since I pretty much read the whole thing before I ever got home, meaning before I had access to my library books ;)  I can tell you the name of this one at least: The Lost Code by Kevin Emerson. Looks fantastic. I’ll report back after I’ve finished it.

Good night all and I’ll have a word count to post tomorrow so check back.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

