Taffy words

I can’t say that my words usually flow easily. But there are times when it’s harder than others to push them out of my head. Long strands of taffy being pulled out with chopsticks. Not a great image, huh?

Still, the satisfaction of getting 1,326 words out of that was worth it. I was hoping to get down 2,000, and I probably still could, but I want to go to bed before I start seeing double.

The 1,326 words are good words. I’m a step closer to knowing why my MC keeps being chased and by whom. And maybe by the time the week’s over, I’ll have written all my chase scenes. Maybe.

Tomorrow I’d like to work on my first scene though. I had a great first scene but then I realized that there wasn’t enough lead up for it to be a first scene. It was grabbing, but it could be more effective later in the story when there’s been some build-up and you actually know and care about some of the characters in it.

So it’s off to bed but I’ll admit one thing first: I kind of want to keep writing just to keep hearing the music I’m listening to. I was caught on Gotye and Kimbra’s “Somebody That I Used To Know,” then it was Melody Gardot, now it’s some old Phil Collins that Spotify found on my computer. Okay, maybe one more song…

What do you like to listen to when you write? If you listen to music while you write, that is.

I’ll leave you with these words from Samuel Johnson, which I’m going to take to mean my writing tonight was good: “What is written without effort is in general read without pleasure.” Yes.

‘Nite all!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taffy words

  1. katkasia says:

    Well done! Especially when the words are hard won.
    I can’t listen to music at all – just too easily distracted I guess.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Thanks!

    Hmmm and not being able to listen to music while you write – well that’s not a bad thing. I’m kind of off-and-on as far as needing music while I work, and I can’t always tell if I’m in a place of needing it or not until I try lol.

Leave a Reply

