Good-bye, Mr. Bradbury

You’ve probably heard by now the very sad news that Ray Bradbury passed away. In tribute, I decided to watch a video of him posted in the article, Ray Bradbury Gives 12 Pieces of Writing Advice to Young Authors (2001).  It’s long – about 54 minutes – but it’s so, so worth it. If you’re a writer – or a fan of his – you need to make time to watch it. It’s filled with gems of writerly wisdom. For example, after he’d been listing things to try and explore in order to further your “writing hygiene,” he says:

I want your loves to be multiple. I don’t want you to be a snob about anything. Anything you love, you do it. It’s gotta be [done] with a sense of fun.

He goes on to say that writing should be joyful and if you’re getting writer’s block, it’s probably because you’re writing about the wrong thing, so stop trying and just start writing something that makes you happy when you write about it. I love this. Not only does he say, do what makes you happy, he says it in a way that’s so matter-of-fact, it makes sense and it becomes doable, not just a pipe-dream to chase.

The article lists more of his advice, so even if you don’t have time to watch the video, check out the article.

Not only was he an amazing writer, but Ray Bradbury was also an amazingly generous resource for other writers out there, sharing his wisdom, his experience, and his humor.

Ray, I loved your books when I was young. Now I have to go back and revisit them all.

You will be missed.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good-bye, Mr. Bradbury

  1. Deb Marshall says:

    He will be missed indeed. Thanks for sharing this with us….like you, I must do some revisiting and some watching. What a human being he was.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Yes, he was. I’m sorry I only recently realized that, and so missed years of following him, but I’ll make up to for it now.

Leave a Reply

