Not enough time

So this will be a fast post because there’s not enough time. Not enough time for what?, you might ask. Well some days it feels like for anything. But I’m not complaining. It’s a challenge to fit everything in. This afternoon, after work, was all about cleaning, so no writing although I am thinking about my book. My fatally flawed book.

Or so I thought.

I somehow started talking out my plot to a friend and saying how I was worrying over keeping a few of my plot elements in because they’ve been done before and it wouldn’t be original and so I’d pulled them out and… And two things might be contributing to my current dry-up: (1) worrying over whether something’s been done before or not and (2) taking out those elements that while they might have been done in some form, they haven’t been done in my form, and it turns out that they might have meant more to me than I thought.

So. When I am ready to start writing again, I will write whatever the hell I want and deal with the results in the second draft. In the meantime, I want to get to work on some of my other projects, like a few picture books I have in various stages, and a couple of short stories I’d like to send out to publications.

On a night when I’m not cleaning (tonight), or going to watch Avengers in 3-D (tomorrow; I’m very behind in my movies).

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

