Inspired and optimistic

I did a lot of dreaming today, both daydreaming and the usual kind. I have (apparently) unusually vivid dreams but last night’s were even more so. This can be a good thing: lots of vivid dreams = inspiration for my writing, right?

This time the answer was, yes for sure. I also found odd inspiration in some disturbing blog posts (disturbing because of the opinions and denial voiced in them). My next bout of writing might not include exactly what inspired me, but it gives me something to work with.

An hour ago, I found out that I unexpectedly have another free day tomorrow. To avoid having a repeat of last Sunday, I’ll be making a list, setting my timer, and otherwise creating the space to do everything I need and want to do tomorrow. The biggies include of course working on my writing but they also include working on another project I need to make headway on, and possibly going to see an author at the launch of her newest picture book.

I’m optimistic. And excited, and the excitement puts me in a far different place than the one I was in last week (hence the optimism).

Happy suddenly-sunny weekend, everyone.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspired and optimistic

  1. http://brianandrekirton.wordpress.com/2012/05/22/optimism-is-a-blessing/
    The power of thought is phenomenal and magnetic the more positive thoughts the more we will have them., it affects the subconscious then transmutes into action. Optimism is truly a blessing.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Agreed, Brian. It’s so easy to lose your optimism when so much seems to be breaking down at once. It can be a real challenge to regain that optimism and know that tomorrow could actually be the day it all turns around. Thanks for the reminder. :)

Leave a Reply

