Taking the long view

A couple of weekends ago, I stumbled on a sale in the Writer’s Digest Shop and found a specially-issued magazine from Sept 2011 called Writing for Kids & YA.  It caught my eye because it features some big names from the Children’s writing market including Sherman Alexie, Lin Oliver, Chuck Sambuchino, Kirby Larson, and Andrew Karre, and yeah I know, most of those names might mean nothing to you, so trust me when I say: they’re big.

The articles feature titles such as “Writing Convincing YA Characters” by K.L. Going (the one I’m probably going to read first), “Top 10 Pieces of Writing Advice I’ve Been Given” by Sherman Alexie, and “Good Company (learn what a writing community can do for you)” by Lin Oliver.

It arrived today (yup, that’s it in the picture) and can you tell I’m excited? Well why shouldn’t I be?

See I’m taking the long-view here. Thanks to a high level of stress in my personal life lately – and a defect in my plot –  my writing has stalled, but as I’ve said before, I’m using this in-between time to work on other writing projects, and that includes reading about writing. And reading about writing will ultimately help my writing when I start again. And it’s just plain fun.

I’ve also started turning one of my picture books over in my head, anxious to get an ending on it; never could because I got too caught up in how it should end. Now I’m waiting for the “real” ending to bonk me on the head. Happily, I at least discovered the reason the main character (a flamingo, and that’s all I’m saying) does what he does. Without that reason, his actions didn’t make sense to me. Now I just need to know how it ends…

I also had a flash of insight into who might be behind something big in my YA dystopian – and it was a shock. It’ll be interesting to watch that unfold.

Have you ever heard the quote by Eugène Ionesco? It goes like this: A writer never has a vacation. For a writer, life consists of either writing or thinking about writingSo, so true. What it means to me is that even when I’m not writing, as long as I’m thinking about my writing or learning more about it, it counts. It counts big-time. And the long-view I talked about earlier? That’s knowing that I will write again, and the words will be good. I just have to be ready for them.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking the long view

  1. katkasia says:

    It sounds like your writing journey is just that – and a fascinating one at that. :)
    I’m sure you’ll get back to it at some stage, but after all, there is no deadline except one you make yourself. It’ll come in it’s own sweet time.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    A journey – yes, thank you! Perfect. And yes, I believe it will too. Just remembering helps. And being reminded so thank you! :)

Leave a Reply

