Imagine – exploring creativity

A month or so ago, someone gifted me with the book, Imagine, but since my living room floor is covered in books (okay, not really, but only because the books are in stacks lol), I didn’t start reading it right off. But when I was in my local bookstore Friday evening looking for something else, I couldn’t help but notice this book on display – three copies of it. That’s a lot of copies for a small local bookstore to display. It got me interested and I started reading.

“Every creative journey begins with a problem. It starts with a feeling of frustration, the dull ache of not being able to find the answer. We have worked hard but we’ve hit the wall. We have no idea what to do next.” –Imagine, Jonah Lehrer (6)

I love books about creativity. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s the inspiration. Maybe it’s hearing how everyone gets there in their own way. Maybe it just makes me feel like I’m being creative even when, in that moment, I’m not.

Hmmm…

I never said that.

Anyway, if you’re interested in reading about creativity and how people come by their ideas and processes, pick it up. I’m putting it on the line since I haven’t finished it yet, but I figure worst case, you start it, you stop it if you hate it. (Took me years to let myself stop reading something I wasn’t into once I’d started. Getting older helped – I don’t have unlimited years left anymore!)

Good luck on your creative journeys and nite all!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Imagine – exploring creativity

  1. Deb Marshall says:

    adding this to the growing list…and loling on the floor coverage. I just recently moved some piles to the tv stand!

  2. thewritingblues says:

    lol nice. I just brought home 3 more books from the library – one was an indirect result of one of your reviews: “Billionaire’s Curse” ;)

  3. Pingback: The purpose of structure « the writing blues

Leave a Reply

