Inspiration strikes

Sometimes I feel that flash of inspiration – that rare urge in my head that’s different from the usual BIC (butt-in-chair) writing method. When I do get it, as I did tonight, and I’m not already at my computer, I move slowly towards my computer without looking around me or too closely at anything. It’s almost as if I were to let myself look around, any little thing could jostle that urge right out of me, and I’d lose the inspiration spark. I’d be able to write, but it wouldn’t have the same flow as if I’d just followed the spark. And that’s happened.

So. Tonight I was smart, and followed the urge – the flash of inspiration – and in about 45 minutes, wrote 1,026 words. (This on top of the 236 that I wrote on Thursday.) It helped that I did two things this week to help clarify my book: I worked on my index cards as I said in my last post, and yesterday, I spent an hour webbing out my plot. The webbing served its purpose as I saw more clearly how and when things were connecting, in a way no outline ever can for me. It also made me see that I pretty much have my story complete as it stands right now, although I definitely need to create webs of some of the sections of my current web to get the details hammered out. (Such as, “so-and-so dies” might need its own web to determine, who, how, why, and what the effects are.) Now it’s just finishing writing the story out and getting the scenes in the right order. And then revising the hell out of it, of course.

Can you say you invented something if you thought of it on your own but someone else also thought of it before you? I’m going to say yes, because that means I thought up webbing as a plotting and character-exploration tool. Even if I keep finding websites already utilizing it in those ways…

I’d like to show you a picture of the plot web I did the other night but I’d have to blur it out so much to avoid spoilers that there’s really no point. You got the idea from my character webbing post though, so I’ll just direct you to eHow’s article, Story Webbing to get a good verbal description of the process. It’s pretty good at explaining how webbing can help you discover your story and isn’t too far off from what I did the other night.

So that’s all. Good luck in your writing – and webbing – adventures!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspiration strikes

  1. Pingback: InspiredInspiration | Yours Truly…

Leave a Reply

