Give it all

I love synchronicities. I was going to write tonight about one synchronicity but instead I’ll write about another (I’ll write about the first tomorrow. Probably. I have a short-term memory so no guarantees.)

After a relaxed dinner with a friend filled with non-stop talking (the best kind of dinner in my opinion), we landed at a small local bookstore. I love this bookstore but I always forget it’s there. My bad. REALLY my bad. Although probably better for my budget that I do forget about it…

One of the amazing finds tonight was a boxed book by Annie Dillard. I only know Annie Dillard from her book The Writing Life (since I don’t read essays or poetry much). I certainly didn’t know she’d written this:

“This” is a gorgeous fold-out book called Give It All Give It Now – One of the Few Things I Know About Writing. The pages fold out, like an accordion, and are beautifully illustrated by Sam Fink.

Why am I so excited about this book? Aside from it being all-out gorgeous, it’s powerful. There are only about three lines. Listen to this one: “One of the few things I know about writing is this: spend it all, shoot it, play it, lose it all, right away, every time.”

And that pretty much sums up the book: don’t save your best for another book – use it now. Your best will be there waiting for you when you’re ready to start your next writing project – it’s not going anywhere!

What an awesome message. Now run with it. I certainly will. Tomorrow. Now I sleep.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Give it all

  1. She nailed it all in that one line, didn’t she? I’m picking this book up. Many thanks!

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Yeah she did! Thanks for reading :)

  3. Pingback: Give It All, Give It Now - Everyday Gyaan

Leave a Reply

