Ending where you want to begin

One advantage to getting allergy shots is that you have a built-in 1/2 hour where you can’t really do anything except browse the Internet, read, or write. I chose to write today.

Wow. Sorry, but that felt good to say: I chose to write today.

I picked up my writing at the scene I’ve been working on the last two days, and continued it at the bus stop and finished on the bus itself. I was closing out the scene. At least, I thought I was.

Partway through my 494 words, I discovered that I was actually writing the beginning of the scene.

This was actually a good thing because I’d had no idea how the scene was going to start. I love that kind of surprise writing. The writing of it also answered a question I’d had about where my little plot surprise was located in my world (no, I’m not telling you) and now it makes sense. My original idea, melted down into an idea that actually makes sense. And isn’t cheesy. Or clichéd. I hope. Jury’s still out…

That’s it for tonight – a woohoo! Hope you’re having your own woohoos tonight. Until tomorrow – or the next day…

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

