Still writing!

So I did write today, but I’m too tired to count the words or put it into Scrivener so I’ll have to add my word count to this post tomorrow. (It’s not a lot of words, so don’t get excited – it was a… non-writing afternoon.)

I met with some writers and children’s book illustrators last night for a catch-up and it was fantastic. It was mostly children’s writers, but we all shared two things in common: a love of writing (and/or illustrating) books, and a love of books period. I always enjoy hearing others’ processes and where they are in their writing, and last night was no exception.

And I love being asked what I’m working on, and getting to talk about my breakthroughs and struggles, ‘cuz I know they get it.

Hearing myself excitedly talk about my WIP (work in progress)… well it’s a reminder when I’m feeling frustrated in my writing that I do still love it. (I should mention though that I’m not feeling frustrated right now – rather I’m excited to find time to tackle my new thread – tomorrow, I’m hoping). It’s good, because Ray Bradbury was right: writing is fun and should be fun, if not in the minutiae of the details, certainly in the process itself, and in the exploration of our stories.

So here’s to excitement in your writing, and to sharing that excitement with like minds. See you tomorrow!

Next day update: Got yesterday’s word count in Scrivener and I wrote 125 words. It adds up… I keep saying that…

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Still writing!

  1. katkasia says:

    Hi Mara,
    Just thought i shoud let you know that I’ve nominated you for the Booker Award. You can find more details at: http://kasiajames.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/the-booker-award/
    This one is fun – you get to agonise over trying to choose and share your favourite 5 books.
    Looking forward to reading your suggestions!

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Cool, Kasia, thanks. I scanned your post and am waiting to read it when I have time to savor – I’m intrigued by your choices and don’t want to rush through. And I have NO idea which ones I’ll pick. “Agonize” is a good choice. How fun! Thank you :)

  3. Pingback: Finding Your Own Pace | bardicblogger

Leave a Reply

